The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men

The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting Improvised Men Though H P Lovecraft is famed mostly for the influential body of short fiction he left behind he was also one of the most prolific correspondents of his time the author of than letters Undis

  • Title: The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men
  • Author: Gabriel Blackwell
  • ISBN: 9781937865146
  • Page: 124
  • Format: Paperback
  • Though H P Lovecraft is famed mostly for the influential body of short fiction he left behind, he was also one of the most prolific correspondents of his time, the author of than 100,000 letters Undiscovered and unpublished until now, The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting Improvised Men is the last letter that Lovecraft wrote, finishing it just days before his deathThough H P Lovecraft is famed mostly for the influential body of short fiction he left behind, he was also one of the most prolific correspondents of his time, the author of than 100,000 letters Undiscovered and unpublished until now, The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting Improvised Men is the last letter that Lovecraft wrote, finishing it just days before his death on March 15, 1937 This edition features extensive notes from the editor, Gabriel Blackwell It s difficult to know if Blackwell is a sharp editor, a stone faced ventriloquist, someone possessed by the ghost of Lovecraft, or all three The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting Improvised Men is a startling investigation of the evanescence of the self It s not so much that it will leave you changed as that it will leave you nameless and wandering Brian Evenson, author of Immobility

    • [MOBI] ☆ The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men | by ☆ Gabriel Blackwell
      Gabriel Blackwell

    About Author

    1. Gabriel Blackwell Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men book, this is one of the most wanted Gabriel Blackwell author readers around the world.

      Reply

    The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting-Improvised Men Comment

    1. When you figure out what s really going on, it will either blow your mind or drive you mad Full review coming at HTMLGiant at some future date This will probably be my last formal review of the year and am real glad it was such an incredibly complex and interesting book to review.tieryas.wordpress 2013 07


    2. One of the great tropes of Lovecraftian horror is that of found manuscripts letters, documents, and old, weird books that prove beyond the shadow of a doubt the existence of cosmic terrors past the periphery of human existence Further, Lovecraftian horror concerns monstrous alien god beings, degenerate demi human cults, and stranger things, the exposure of which threatens to send us careening into the far comforting realms of madness, paranoia, sorrow, and darkness When realized poorly, these t [...]


    3. The Natural Dissolution of Fleeting Improvised Men is fiendishly clever, endlessly byzantine, and brilliantly tongue in cheek in cheek In this book and his equally clever Shadow Man A Biography of Lewis Miles Archer, Blackwell has essentially invented a new genre, the inverted quest having started at the Holy Grail, the seeker works his way backward into mental and spiritual derailment Gabriel Blackwell tips his hat not only to Lovecraft, but also to Thomas Bernhard, Samuel Beckett, David Foster [...]



    4. We lose and find ourselves in every great piece of fiction Sometimes you want out other times you wish you could remain lost in those words Gabriel Blackwell s latest fits into the latter category.


    5. It certainly didn t hurt that Lovecraft is wrapped up in this one, but that wasn t the only reason I ended up adoring this book A falling apart version of a questing novel, the narratives buried in meta narratives compel reading of the text in the same way that the texts in the text pull in the narrators of those various intertwined narratives It s undertow, powerful and sinister undertow I mean, a character purported to be the author presenting what may or may not be a malevolent letter in effe [...]


    6. This was a very enjoyable wrap up to the GB first year trilogy, I think sort of completing the arc traced in Shadow Man and referring explicitly to the speaker in this and SM as also being the author of Critique of Pure Reason We sort of see, by the endnotes, the emergence from the academic crysalis of the GB persona as a writer Or maybe editor critic, or something like that.I loved reading Lovecraft as a kid, though that was tempered with some irritation at his florid language, which I thought [...]


    7. So very awesome One of my favorite novels read this year, and though it s early in the year, I imagine I ll keep coming back to this statement Reads beautifully and it winds in on itself and reflects itself Does so many great things, and is in the tradition of both House of Leaves and Pale Fire, but also distinctly its own take on fake memoir academic exploration.Interview to come.


    8. Difficult to know quite what to say Voice is the best HPL impersonation proper I ve come across Unsettling, unpleasant and disturbing Quite possibly mad, like Schreber Imagine if Lovecraft wrote House of Leaves without leaving his head What is happening to me


    9. e roaming of a dreaming brain without any of the snares set by the nerves, so that I felt as though I had no body, as though my vision had no connection to the eye.


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *