The Rainy Season

The Rainy Season In the tradition of Joan Didion and Paul Theroux this highly acclaimed writer reporter offers a vivid portrait of today s Haiti where during the day the streets are filled with bustling markets while

  • Title: The Rainy Season
  • Author: Amy Wilentz
  • ISBN: 9780671706289
  • Page: 411
  • Format: Paperback
  • In the tradition of Joan Didion and Paul Theroux, this highly acclaimed writer reporter offers a vivid portrait of today s Haiti where during the day the streets are filled with bustling markets while at night they are filled with gunfire.

    • [AZW] ☆ The Rainy Season | by ☆ Amy Wilentz
      Amy Wilentz

    About Author

    1. Amy Wilentz is the award winning author of The Rainy Season Haiti Since Duvalier Martyrs Crossing, a novel about Jerusalem, and I Feel Earthquakes More Often Than They Happen Coming to California in the Age of Schwarzenegger From 1995 through 1999, she was The New Yorker s Jerusalem correspondent She s a contributing editor at The Nation magazine and teaches in the Literary Journalism program at the University of California at Irvine She has worked as a monitor for Americas Watch, and was a board member of the National Coalition for Haitian Refugees Wilentz is a frequent contributor to Conde Nast Traveler, More magazine, and the Los Angeles Times She is currently working on a novel about money, love, and family.

      Reply

    The Rainy Season Comment

    1. With this sort of sociological book about a place with an interesting history, people and events, the author does a lot of research, both from media and in the field, and carefully looks at the facts and sees the bigger picture and that helps formulate what kind of book they are going to write Each chapter then will be devoted to a certain aspect and sources, whether people, direct observation or media will be used to illustrate the author s point of view.However, some authors have an agenda alr [...]


    2. I randomly came across this in my aunt s library today, so I figured I d skim through it and see what all the fuss was about I m not impressed so far, but I ve only just begun This could turn out to be an interesting portrait of foreign journalists in HaitiA couple of weeks later I finally decided on a rating It was tough This book is a good read in that it definitely kept me interested and has lots of behind the scenes info about the Haitian political scene But so much of it annoyed me and seem [...]


    3. Some years after graduating from Shimer College my youngest stepbrother, Erik Badger, got hired for an education project in Haiti on the recommendation of his undergraduate mentor Knowing no Creole and facing the prospect of working primarily with the rural poor, his job began with months of total immersion, alone in a small village where no one spoke English It worked and he went to work.During most of the period Willentz writes about the official language of Haiti was French the ruling class w [...]


    4. Excellent reportage from Haiti in the late 1980s from the fall of Baby Doc Duvalier through the failure of elections and military rule into the beginning of the 90s Wilentz was close to the young Aristide before his two doomed presidencies, and her account of the young radical priest and his movement is fascinating, as is her account of the sheer mass of Haitian interests and foreign demands that crushed any hope of real reform when the Duvaliers fell Fine writing and a good way of explaining Ha [...]


    5. Well written book about Haiti after the fall of Baby Doc up until the rise of Duvalier Modern vignettes are interspersed with historical perspectives on Haiti.


    6. Very slow reading From responses from other readers may go back to it when I have time to read for a long period of time.


    7. This book explores 3 important years in Haiti s history 1987 89, when Duvalier left, military juntas seized control of the government, and Aristide started his rise to prominence.Although the book was published before Aristide won the popular election in 1991 and therefore misses the most important elements of Aristide s relationship with Haiti , it s still fascinating to read a before he was famous account of such a significant and controversial figure Wilentz s observations are often en pointe [...]


    8. Fabulous on the ground, well written account of Haiti from the fall of Baby Doc through a few turbulent years after Wilentz covers her story from the found up, as opposed to being focused on interviewing following wealthy powerful people She respects Haitians and provides many wonderful accounts of real, intelligent, poor people struggling through adversity and fighting for change I have followed the Haitian struggle for democracy and was well aware of Aristide, but this book provides such a gre [...]


    9. Amy Wilentz writes about Haiti 1978 89 like a latter day Charles Dickens, with dozens of major and minor characters and an eye for the broad sweep of society and history all at once Only she is also versed in novels by Haitian authors, previous histories of the nation, folk sayings, voudoun, and the bad boy behavior of American reporters There is nothing quite like this book.Readers who never supported Aristide or who cannot forgive the violence carried out by some of his supporters will fault h [...]


    10. I really enjoyed Wilentz s account of Haiti back in the 80 s This book is very political in nature, since Wilentz was a journalist in Port au Prince for several years beginning after the fall of Baby Doc Duvalier However she intersperses her work with stories of life and struggles in the countryside Her work is wonderfully personalized with individual characters she has met, including a lot of interviews with a young Aristide While not a complete history of the country, I thought it provided a g [...]


    11. A wonderful and very informative book on Haiti Captivating through an alternation of description and evocation, with occasional analysis A bit romanticizing and slightly idealistic, pro Aristide Aristide is the main character, his story coincides with that of Haiti itself, he is the key to understand the country Also notable the very crucial and mostly negative impact of American policy.


    12. Wilentz s powers of perception and openness make this a must read for anyone interested in Haiti, the post colonial world, or journalism But it s also a story about the effect of dystopia on a sensitive, first world writer.


    13. The Rainy Season is being reissued next week by Simon Schuster, with a new, post earthquake introduction For an understanding of the Haitian people, this book is excellent A joy to read.


    14. A good and interesting read that is a journalistic acount of Wilentz s travels in Haiti in the late 1980s It s a little long winded, but I pretty much knew nothing of Haiti s history going into the book, and this definitely filled in some gaps.


    15. Very well written A good primer to begin to understand Haiti in particular and some of the concepts of US international aid in general I can t wait to read Farewell Fred Voodoo.


    16. I liked the style of writing and the topic covered I wish she would have written some kind of follow up post 1989.


    17. I read about a third of this one and really enjoyed it, but I spilled soup on it and probably won t finish the rest anytime soon Maybe I ll come back to it, maybe not




    18. Good picture of Haitian history from the post Duvalier to Aristide period Country then was in a mess just as it is today Nothing changes.



    19. weirdI got this book for Christmas and it was kind of random But now with the earthquakes it seems really relevant.


    20. Not what I would call neutral reporting there s a definite political slant here But still one of the best books I ve read about Haiti s politics, by someone who really gets the culture.


    21. Solid introduction to Haitian history between the ouster of Jean Claude Duvalier and the overthrow of the military junta under Henry Namphy in 1989.


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *